See South America’s Triple Frontier where three countries meet

Triple Frontier Brazil, Argentina and Paraguay

There is a river point in South America where three countries — Argentina, Brazil, and Paraguay — come together to form the Triple Frontier.

The confluence of the two rivers, the Parana River (7th biggest in the world) and the Iguazu River, create a fascinating image. Unfortunately, the triple point is also a major traffic point where drug and human trafficking occur.

The geographic area is on the Pentagon’s radar for being a hotspot for terrorist organizations, with money allegedly flowing from Lebanese Arabs in the region to Hezbollah overseas.

The Triple Frontier area is a fascinating but potentially dangerous place where the so-called “map is not the territory.”

A convergence of obelisks

The three countries host obelisks at the borders’ convergence, allowing visitors to view all three countries simultaneously.

Each monument comes painted in the national colors of each country.

Interestingly the three countries also share the same top attraction, the majestic Iguazu Falls.

275 separate waterfalls make up the natural wonder, which sits primarily on the border of the Argentine province of Misiones and the Brazilian state of Parana.


Subscribe to via email and never miss a post!

Join 54 other subscribers

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.